Drone Records
Your cart (0 item)

B.E.F. - Music for Stowaways

Format: LP
Label & Cat.Number: Cold Spring CSR310LP
Release Year: 2023
Note: \"Music To Kill Your Parents By\" - originally released as cassette-only by VIRGIN in 1981, now one of the 50 Greatest Lost Albums of All Time - list (Uncut mag:) - - *Groundbreaking early recordings made by HEAVEN 17\'s Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh (The British Electric Foundation) after their departure from THE HUMAN LEAGUE in 1980, feat. ADI NEWTON (CLOCK DVA) on one track..*
Price (incl. 19% VAT): €23.50

More Info

The first reissue of seminal early 1980\'s electronic recordings from the British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.), aka HEAVEN 17 / ex-THE HUMAN LEAGUE\'s Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh, with Adi Newton (CLOCK DVA / THE FUTURE), and John Wilson (HEAVEN 17), originally a cassette-only release (1981).

Following two groundbreaking albums (\'Reproduction\' and \'Travelogue\'), the original line-up of Sheffield-based The Human League split in half in late 1980. The two primary musicians in the group, Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh, formed a new production company - the British Electric Foundation (B.E.F.) - and signed a deal with Virgin Records to write and produce up to six albums a year. The artists they were to produce would include Heaven 17, their own new band formed with vocalist Glenn Gregory.

B.E.F. would also release their own material, commencing with the music on this collection, which was issued in various permutations in 1981-82. Its initial release in March 1981 was a limited edition numbered eight song cassette entitled \'Music for Stowaways\', with \'Stowaways\' being a reference to the original name for the then-new Sony portable cassette player - later renamed the Walkman - of which B.E.F. were great fans. \'Music for Stowaways\' was intended to be listened to on such a device. The cassette was followed by a seven song LP, \'Music For Listening To\', which had a slightly different tracklisting, while other B.E.F. music was utilised for B-sides of early singles by Heaven 17.

This music was among the first recorded by Martyn and Ian directly after their departure from The Human League. Some tracks had evolved from other recordings they were working on at the time, such as \'Groove Thang\' - an instrumental version of the debut single by Heaven 17 - and \'The Old At Rest\', which derived from a version of \'Wichita Lineman\' by Jimmy Webb, their very first recording with Glenn that would subsequently appear on B.E.F.\'s \'Music of Quality and Distinction, Volume One\' covers album in 1982.

Supporting musicians on \'Music For Stowaways\' included Adi Newton of Clock DVA (who had been a member of The Future with Martyn and Ian pre-Human League) on the track \'Uptown Apocalyse\', with John Wilson (who provided incredible guitar and bass for Heaven 17) appearing on Groove Thang.

The innovative sounds heard on \'Music For Stowaways\' were an inspiration to many aspiring electronic artists. In 2015, Uncut magazine included it in a list of the \'50 Greatest Lost Albums of All Time\'.
released April 21, 2023

\"One of the most innovative and important electronic albums of all time\" Electronic Sound

★★★★ Mojo
★★★★ Record Collector
★★★★ Classic Pop
8/10 Uncut

All tracks composed, arranged, performed and produced by Ian Craig Marsh and Martyn Ware for the British Electric Foundation, except for:

Uptown Apocalypse - written by Ian Craig Marsh, Martyn Ware, Steven James Turner (bass) and Adi Newton (synthesizer).

The Optimum Chant - produced by B.E.F. and Glenn Gregory.

Groove Thang - features bass and guitar by John Wilson.

B.E.F. Ident - composed and performed by Malcolm Veal in the style of Bach/Purcell.
all rights reserved