Drone Records
Your cart (0 item)

ETANT DONNES - L'Etoile Au Front

Format: CD
Label & Cat.Number: Klanggalerie gg324
Release Year: 2021
Note: re-issue of their third cassette (on DIE FORM's Bain Total) from 1982, one of the five much sought-after early cassettes before the band appeared on Staalplaat with "L'Eclipse" (1985): obscure collages made of low fi recordings and mechanical / motorized object sounds, radio found sounds, whispers, plus a long noisy live extract (live Grenoble '81) with screams and weird electronic sounds, and one unreleased bonus traack! This shows the shaping of the unique ETANT DONNES sound of later releases!
Price (incl. 19% VAT): €15.00

More Info

Etant Donnes is a French duo named after Marcel Duchamp's last major work. The group consists of brothers Marc and Eric Hurtado, born in Morocco and working mainly as performance artists and musicians. Their sound can be described as a mix of field recordings, found sounds and sometimes whispered, sometimes violent vocals. They describe their sounds like this: "Through Marc and Eric, it is the volume of each word that becomes an object-sculpture, together with the power of their bodies expressing their voices. Each event is a scream - indeed even the glissando - of the strength of the word that sometimes abruptly becomes a rock, a solid surface, not in the least fluvial, as is the narrative of a tale, novel or poetic epic. With both of them, there is no more trace of ancient prosodies, no more trace of the incomprehensible Sainte-Beuve who could claim: "I have to collect a volume of prose". The word, the voice, the volume take shape with each other, unveiling a theatre that theatre usually ignores, which has given it such things as a Samuel Beckett's Fin de Partie." Over the years Etant Donnes have collaborated with people like Lydia Lunch, Michael Gira, Alan Vega and Genesis P-Orridge. L'Etoile du Front was the band's third album, dating back to 1982 and originally issued on French Bain Total label (run by Philippe Fichot of Die Form). For this CD re-issue we have added a long bonus track not on the original album. Full tracklist: 1. Les 4 VSD 2. А Temperature D'Or 3. Les 4 Eux Deux 4. Experimentation Langage 1 5. 4 Poste Des Eux 6. Music from the film Des autres terres souples Part 2.