Drone Records
Your cart (0 item)

CONRAD, TONY & FAUST - Outside the Dream Syndicate

Format: LP
Label & Cat.Number: Superior Viaduct SV048
Release Year: 2016
Note: the meeting of minimal violin drones and Krautrock, rec. October 1972 at Wmme-studios; first vinyl re-issue of the famous LP from 1973, when TONY CONRAD (the film-maker, sound-artist and member of the THEATRE OF ETERNAL MUSIC with LA MONTE YOUNG who died April 2016) visited Germany... includes double sided insert with liner notes
Price (incl. 19% VAT): €24.00

More Info

"Violinist, composer and filmmaker Tony Conrad started his career in New York in the early 1960s. As a member of the Theatre of Eternal Music (a.k.a. the Dream Syndicate) alongside John Cale, La Monte Young, Marian Zazeela and Angus MacLise, he participated in now-legendary and often legendarily loud drone performances with many pieces having no beginning and no end. During a fateful trip to Germany in 1972, Conrad met with avant-rock visionaries Faust and made the very first record to bear his name.

Outside The Dream Syndicate, originally released in Europe only in 1973, is a stunning debut. Two side-long tracks "The Side Of Man And Womankind" and "The Side Of The Machine" show just how far Conrad had moved beyond his minimalist peers. Werner Diermaier's repetitive drum beat and Jean-Herv Peron's stripped-down bassline conjure a tense, ascetic groove, while Conrad's seamless violin, initially so controlled, reveals a surprising adaptability. The music shifts almost on a subliminal level, pushing and pulling to the drone's internal pulse.

It is hard to imagine Conrad's trajectory from downtown Manhattan to a farmhouse in the German countryside that ultimately resulted in Outside The Dream Syndicate, yet no other record captures so completely and instantly the intersection of avant-garde and rock forms. Outside The Dream Syndicate remains ahead of and bracingly outside of its time.

This first-time vinyl reissue has been carefully mastered from the original master tapes and includes liner notes by musician Jim O'Rourke and author Branden W. Joseph."