Drone Records
Your cart (0 item)

HAIGH, ROBERT - The Silence of Ghosts

Format: CD
Label & Cat.Number: Siren Records SIREN 024
Release Year: 2015
Note: the new album by ROBERT HAIGH contains 18 tracks for 'classic' solo piano, calming poetic / melancholic miniatures with very silent synth drones in the background, so fragile.. this is all you need, sometimes... 45 min. playtime, lim. 700, mini-LP cardboard cover, artwork by ANDREW CHALK
Price (incl. 19% VAT): €15.00

More Info

"Robert Haigh continues on in his post-Omni Trio musical world, releasing a type of contemporary classical/ambient music that is piano-based and bridges the worlds of Aphex Twin (in the Richard James quieter moments), Max Richter, Eno and Chilly Gonzales. These, as with the instrumental pieces on recent-enough Haigh album, the gorgeous Darkling Streams, feel all at once like demo-versions and finished pieces; the writer sitting down at the keys and shaking loose a few ideas. Stopping to find them as close to fully formed as theyll ever be art thats never finished, simply discarded.

These pieces hint as nostalgia and quiet moments of contemplation, they, once again, feel like theyve come from the school of film composition more so than from any techno/drumnbass world (where Haigh, of course, has operated so successfully).

These are soft sketches. We listen in, almost eavesdropping, catching just the bit in the middle longer intros or outros could change any one of these pieces into an album-length work, but these snapshots still seem correctly bound together.

Its quietly powerful stuff.

Shadowy musical figures, breathing spaces within the notes, the slightest feeling of unease trickling in and around these moments that mostly frame up a type of tranquillity, create a calm, a balm, a day-spa soundtrack with depth, warmth and intrigue.

Once again Haigh has offered up the very best from his soul for the wee small hours, for those moments after first waking or to guide you as you slip off into a strange and wonderful dreamland." [Off the Tracks]