Drone Records
Your cart (0 item)

HAYWARD, CHARLES - Smell of Metal

Format: do-12inch
Label & Cat.Number: KEMAA 002
Release Year: 2014
Note: two rare percussive solo-tracks by the ex THIS HEAT/CAMBERWELL NOW mastermind (recorded 1989 and released first on the deleted "Skew-Whiff: A Tribute to MARK ROTHKO" CD); now with two remixes by JD TWITCH and MAXMILLION DUNBAR on the second 12", beautiful gatefold cover
Price (incl. 19% VAT): €18.00
Warning: Currently we do not have this album in stock!

More Info

"Charles Hayward formed This Heat in 1976, with Gareth Williams and Charles Bullen: an experimental mix of Can, dub, punk and industrial. (DFA is a glint in its eye.) He also drummed for The Raincoats and Crass. The Kemal selections here are from his tribute to Mark Rothko, released in 1990 by the wonderful Brussels label Sub Rosa: grooving, stripped, moody DJ assassinators, fresh as anything.
On the second vinyl, Maxmillion Dunbar is possessed by Photek disguised as DJ Premier. His favourite of his own remixes, according to a recent interview. And another hard-core CH fan, JD Twitch rocks up with a carrier of Giallo videos and New Beat singles, gobbling Goblin and Belgian acid. Beautiful, gatefold artwork, again." [label info]

"Berceuse Heroique' Kemaa sublabel swiftly follow that excellent side of Greek fire-walking music with this deluxe reissue of percussive tributes to Mark Rothko by This Heat's Charles Hayward, backed with JD Twitch and Maxmillion Dunbar remixes.

'Smell of Metal' gives a first vinyl issue of the title track and 'Lopside' from Hayward's 1990 CD for Sub Rosa, unleashing two tense, minimalist pieces of rolling drums and etheric drones that sound like the missing link between 1980s post punk and '90s electronic experimentation. 'Lopside' steps to a skinny, prickling groove rent with panned electronics and icy keys, awash with the clang of metal objects and helmed by Hayward's tight, shuffling hi-hat and kick syncopation.

'Smell Of Metal' is slower, with spectral vibes reminding of Basquiat's Gray unit, while JD Twitch's take on 'Lopside' is squashed to a late night bump and fleshed out with shimmering chords, and Beautiful Swimmers' Maxmillion Dunbar rolls 'Smell Of Metal' into a more fluid, dizzied disco-no-disco groove. Featuring artwork by Will Bankhead, it's another excellent package from this promising label." [Boomkat review]