Drone Records
Your cart (0 item)

COMELADE, PASCAL - Degeneration Electronics 1974-1983

Format: 5 x LP BOX
Label & Cat.Number: Vinyl-On-Demand VOD 130
Release Year: 2014
Note: re-issue of rare releases from 1974-1983 with a focus on electronic material by this highly idiosyncratic French musician & film music composer (incl. his first LP 'Fluence' from 1975, and 'Sentimientos' LP which appeared 1982 on DYS, the MNEMONISTS label!!); lim. & numb. ed. 500 copies with booklet
Price (incl. 19% VAT): €80.00

More Info

"Pascal Comelade is a French-Catalan musician, born in 1955 in Montpellier. Comelade began
making strange cover songs of rock and easy listening standards with such instruments as
singing saw, toy piano etc. He later developed an unconfoundable style, co-operated with artists like Robert Wyatt, Faust, Jac Berrocal, and PJ Harvey, and even has a tribute band in Japan, the Pascals.

After living for several years in Barcelona in the early/mid 70's, he made his first album,
"Fluences", influenced by electronic music and the group Heldon.

Subsequently, his music has become more acoustic and is characterized by the sounds of toy
instruments, used as solo-instruments and as an integral part of the sound of his group, the Bel
Canto Orquestra.

This Box is presents his earlier works with focus on his electronic tracks from 1974 to 1983 on LP 1 to LP 4 and includes his first concert with the Bel Canto Orquestra from 1983 on LP 5.

LP1 Fluence (1974/75) ‎– s/t (originally released as Lp on Pôle Records ‎– Pôle 0008 in 1975, lmtd 1000 copies)

A1 A Few Reasons To Stay - A Few Reasons To Split Guitar – Richard Pinhas
A2 Barcelona Tango Performer – Ben Soussan, Ph. Besseme
B1 Schizo Performer – G. Ibanez, J. P. Barreda

LP2 Paralelo (originally released on Parasite, 1980 ‎– PAR 002, lmtd.1000)

A1 Mouvement Décomposé D'un Coup De Marteau
A2 Good-Bye Wyatt Hat
A3 Via-Laietana
A4 Paralelo
A5 Vertical
A6 Musique Ridicule Saxophone [Plastic Sax] – Pascale Vergnaud
B1 Politico
B2 Automne
B3 Musique Pour Les Ascenseurs
B4 Palarlelo 7
B5 Erratum Musical 1 Soprano Saxophone – Pascale Vergnaud
B4 Erratum Musical 2 Soprano Saxophone – Pascale Vergnaud
B5 Nicaragua
B6 Mediterraneo

LP3 Sentimientos (originally released as Lp on Dys ‎– DYS 05 in 1982, lmtd 500 copies)

A1 White Light 1:29
A2 Approximative But Fair 2:48
A3 Wyatt Ah Um 3:57
A4 Lettre De Mozart À Sa Petite Cousine 1:39
A5 Still Life With Goldfish 0:57
A6 The Grey Velvet Gentleman 1:29
A7 From DC By PC 1:16
A8 Taking Tiger Mountain 5:16
A9 Habanera 2:33
A10 Carmen 3:42
B1 Avant-Midi 1:52
B2 Sicilia 1:47
B3 Again 2:21
B4 White Heat 0:56
B5 Distant Pianos 3:06
B6 Paralelo 1:50
B7 In A Lebanon Park 2:50
B8 Courant D'Air Sur Le Pommier Du Japon 5:12
B9 La Opera 1:03
B10 Barret 2:28

LP4 A: Sequences Païennes (originally released as 7" on Parasite PAR001, 1979 / Ready-Made (originally released on Parasite PAR 004, 1980, lmtd 500 copies)

A1 Séquence 1 4:00
A2 Séquence 2 1:14
A3 Séquence 3 2:35
A4 Séquence 4 2:37
A5 Séquence 5 3:04
A6 Séquence 6 2:40
A7 Again Written- 2:21 adopted by a song by K. Ayers*
A8 Éclairage Sur L'Eau Organ 0:57 (David Cunningham)
A9 Canço De Bressol 0:48
A10 Distant Pianos 3:07
A11 San-Salvador 1:59 (Electric Guitar – Armand Miralles)
A12 El Wiski Twist 2:21

Lp4B: Irregular Organ / Musique Par Correspondance (originally released on "Precis de Decomposition Bruitiste", Tape, Parasite PAR006, 1983, lmtd 50 copies

B1: Irregular Organ 9:19
B2: Musique par Correspondance 15:09

Lp5A: Bel Canto Orquestra en concert, Montpellier, 28th of October 1983 (originally issued as Tape on Medamothi, 1983 and in 1985 (semi)-officially re-released on Ding Dong Records as "Dans la Cadre de Casino" with wrong track-titles)
A1: The Curious Sofa (14:00)

Lp5B: Bel Canto Orquestra en concert (B1) / Slow Musics (B2-B3) (originally issued as Tape on Eurock / Parasite, 1981)

B1: Moments de Bruits Pendant Le Naufrage (18:00)

B2: John Cage descendant un escalier (1:53)
B3: Slow Music (4:27)" [label info]