Drone Records
Your cart (0 item)

RANK ENSEMBLE - Papilio Noblei

Format: CD
Label & Cat.Number: LEO Records CD LR 703
Release Year: 2014
Note: impressive album by a group of four Finnish 'new music' performers (each two male / female on guitar, french horn, harp, ukulele, spring drum, piano, electronics, flute, melodica, & voices) who create highly original improvisational subtlescapes; pure & contemplative, with chances for silence, a kind of focused meditation, always generating unusual "unheard" sounds & noises and arrangements from their instruments.... their first album
Price (incl. 19% VAT): €13.00

More Info

"Rank Ensemble is Solmund Nystabakk (guitar, voice), Elena Kakaliagou (French horn, voice), Saara Rautio (harp, ukelele, spring drum), James Andean (piano, electronics, flute, melodica). The music of Rank Ensemble is highly original, the sense of originality is increased due to the unusual combinations of instruments. The music falls between all possible chairs Ч one moment it is close to academic avant-garde, the next moment it is collective improvisation and instant composing, the next it is electronic explorations." [label info]